How I, as a blind person sing in a Choir

I’ve been singing in choirs for many years. First in primary school, then singing acapella in high school, then in music school and now with another chorus.

As a blind singer, there are some things I need to do differently, since I cant see the conductor. You may think this could be a difficult thing, but for me it isn’t.

Braille Music is Key

First of with out braille music, singing in a choir would be a lot harder. I can tell a lot from just reading the score. Word placement, dymanics and phrasing are just some of the things I pick up from using a braille music score.

I cant always tell from listening where the words fit, esspecially when it is spread over many sylables. Tempo changes are also very important as I rely on the music for these, instead of watching the conductor.

How I mark my Scores

It is a given that a choir member would always bring a pencil to rehearsal, to mark the score if necessary. Quite often subtle changes are made in the score and we are expected to mark them.

as a blind person, we don’t have that. But we do have ways of marking a score too.

  • We can record the rehearsal, and mark the score after we get home by putting sticky notes on the page of music where the marking occurs;
  • We use a braille notetaker, typing the notation directly in to the electronic braille file. [this is the method I use]
  • The music is embossed double spaced, leaving room to add the markings later at home after rehearsals.

How do blind people Follow the Conductor?

This is hard to explain. I use a variety of methods to keep track of what is going on including:

  • listening to the breathing of the singers around me, taking my cue to start or cutoff at the right time;
  • Being so familar with the music that I literally can sing it in my sleep;
  • Counting the bars rests as required when first rehearsing a piece, so I can know when to come in;

– A sort of “knowing” when something is haspening. I can almost sense when a cressendo happens, with out even knowing how. I just and just happens.

I’m sure I will have more to add as I continue on my journey. The choir I have just joined is a lot larger than I’m used too and of a professional nature, so it will be a interesting experience.

Leave a comment